• Overview

    Join this TC


    With the increasing demand for Earth Observation data to support environmental monitoring, to anticipate and respond to natural disasters, to inform decision making and to assist citizens in their daily activities, it is ever more important the final outputs of sensor-algorithm-product chains are accessible and usable by everyone who could benefit from their use. It is particularly important that users be able to combine data from diverse sources.

    The explosive growth of constellations of small satellites and the increasing ubiquity of remote and para-sensors in cars and on other platforms, as well as their connectivity to the Internet provide an opportunity for industry and academia to work together to define formats and interfaces to make data generated by all of these sensors interoperable and accessible.

    As a leading world organization dedicated to advancing the scientific and technical theory and application of remote sensing for the geosciences, the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society (GRSS) seeks to bring together industry and academia to identify where standardization can improve the generation, distribution and utilization of interoperable data products from remote sensing systems.


    The GRSS Technical Committee on Standards for Earth Observations will advance the usability and uptake of remote sensing products by shepherding the creation of standards that address identified needs. This will be accomplished by

    • Assembling an a committee consisting of representatives from remote sensing companies, research institutions and standards experts
    • Initiating studies to identify where standardization of a remote sensing product or service could lead to greater adoption in some target market
    • Drafting proposals for standards development, which could lead to creation of subcommittees or working groups within existing Standards Development Organizations such as IEEE, OGC, CEOS, or ISO
    • Soliciting sponsors for the standards development work
    • Performing education and outreach to maximize standard adoption


    The scope of the GRSS Technical Committee on Standards for Earth Observations includes all types of Earth observing systems and products. Standards development efforts will be undertaken via an open consensus process by an appropriate Standards Development Organization.

    Membership is open to all interested parties.

    Contact Information:

    Dr. Siri Jodha Khalsa
    Standards for Earth Observations Technical Committee Chair
    Research Scientist in remote sensing, GIS and informatics
    National Snow and Ice Data Center
    Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
    The University of Colorado
    UCB 449
    Boulder CO 80309-0449
    Phone: 303-492-1445
    EMail: sirijodha.khalsa@ieee.org

    Betty Evans
    Standards for Earth Observations Technical Committee Co-Chair
    Maxar Technologies
    Denver, CO, USA
    EMail: Betty.Evans@maxar.com

  • Members

    Current membership (as of February 2020):

    Last Name First Name Affiliation Country
    Sunita Amity university, noida Inida
    Agram Piyush NASA – JPL USA
    Ahmad Touseef Space Applications Centre Ahmedabad India
    Al-Khaldi Mohammad ElectroScience Laboratory, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, The Ohio State University USA
    Allgair John BRIDG USA
    Awuviri Alexander GRIDCo Ghana
    Awuviri Alexander RFMICROTEK Ghana
    Baumann Peter Jacobs University Germany
    Baumgartner Andreas DLR Germany
    Ben Dor Eyal University of Tel Aviv Israel
    Böker Dietmar IABG Assling
    Camps Adriano UPC Barcelona Spain
    Carlier Simon Aalto University Finland
    Carreno-Luengo Hugo Climate and Space Sciences and Engineering Department, University of Michigan USA
    Catarino Nuno Deimos Portugal Portugal
    Darnell Barbara Bodkin Design United States
    Donna Howland Northrop Grumman US
    Duburg Dominique TOTAL Unknown
    Durell Christopher United States New Hampshire
    Elarab Manal MicaSense Inc. United States
    Evans Betty Digital Globe USA
    Fong Alexandre TruTag Technologies United States
    Fritz Thomas DLR Germany
    GILCHRIST John CAMLIN Photonics Ltd United Kingdom
    Gariepy Genevieve ABB Canada
    Gonzalez Carolina
    Grizonnet Manuel CNES France
    Gutierrez Antonio Deimos Portugal Portugal
    Hardy Caroline University of Johannesburg South Africa
    Hikichi KEIta Kosuai Kogto Japan
    Holzwarth Stefanie DLR Germany
    Hong Wen Institute of Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences China
    Junjun Yin University of Science and technology Beijing China
    Jurado Pedro
    Kannambadi Gurudatta Aaron-GSD India
    Khalsa Siri Jodha Univ. of Colorado, Boulder USA
    Lamb Mark Northrop Grumman, Los Angeles USA
    Lo Monte Lorenzo Telephonics USA
    Lopez-Sanchez Juan M Universidad de Alicante Spain
    Mallenahalli Naresh Kumar National Remote Sensing Centre (ISRO) India
    Mallorqui Jordi J. CommSensLab – Unidad de Excelencia Maria de Maeztu Spain
    Mazza Antonio University Federico Italy
    Meyer Franz ASF Chief Scientist USA
    Miao Yuanjing National Space Science Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences China
    Pacifici Fabio Digital Globe USA
    Papathanassiou Kostas DLR Germany
    Percivall George OGC USA
    Pierce Leland The University of Michigan, EECS Dept. USA
    Ralph Gendron
    Reigber Andreas DLR Germany
    Romero Kevin Northrop Grumman USA
    Rosen Paul NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory USA
    Ruggieri Marina University of Roma ‘Tor Vergata’ Italy
    SS VijayaShekar IIT-V India
    Saketapuram Haripriya National Remote Sensing Centre ISRO India
    Schwartzkopf Wade National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) USA
    Schwegmann Colin Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) South Africa
    Skauli Torbjorn Norwegian defence research (FFI) Norway
    Stiefel Avi ISI Israel
    Strobl Peter European Commission, Joint Research Centre Italy
    Sundberg Robert Spectral Sciences, Inc. US
    Takashi Kazuori Oyo Corp. Japan
    Ustuner Mustafa Yıldız Technical University Turkey
    Villalon-Turrubiates Ivan ITESO, Universidad Jesuita de Guadalajara Mexico
    Voimov Sergey DLR Germany
    Wang Tianlin University of Michigan USA
    Xu Xingou National Space Science Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences China
    Yagne Nestor DLR
    Younis Marwan DLR Germany
    kushwaha sunni kanta prasad Indian Institute of Technology – Roorkee India
  • Projects

    Standards Development Projects