Description:The GRSS established the Fawwaz Ulaby Distinguished Achievement Award to recognize an individual who has made significant technical contributions over a sustained period. The contributions shall fall within the technical scope of GRSS. The award shall be considered annually and presented if a distinguished candidate is identified.

Eligibility:The Awards Committee may give preference to an individual who:

  • is an IEEE member with the Grade of Senior Member or Fellow,
  • has been a member of GRSS and IEEE for at least 5 years,
  • has published papers in IEEE Journals, esp. TGARS within the past 10 years,
  • has been engaged in technical aspects of remote sensing for at least 15 years.

Individuals who have received the GRSS Outstanding Service Award are not eligible within 5 years.

Eligibility and the selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations.

Award Items: Plaque and certificate.

Frequency: The award shall be presented annually to one recipient, provided a qualified candidate is nominated.

Nominee Solicitation:
The nomination package must be submitted by an IEEE GRSS member, consisting of the following:

  • a nomination letter, no more than 2-pages in length, from a GRSS member
  • nomination template: available though the Award Nomination Tool
  • a complete curriculum vitae of the candidate
  • at least 2 recommendation letters from individuals familiar with the candidate’s technical contributions and achievements

Selection/Basis for Judging:

  • quality, significance and impact of contributions
  • quantity of contributions
  • duration of significant activity
  • papers published in archival journals
  • papers presented at conferences and symposia
  • patents advancement of profession.

Recipients will be notified by early March.

Presentation: The award shall be presented at an awards ceremony during the International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium, IGARSS, together with other IEEE GRSS awards.